Don’t Waver

20130825-003617.jpg

“No unbelief made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that God was able to do what he had promised.”-Romans 4:20, ESV

Have you ever wavered while waiting on the fulfillment of God’s promises? We know that God doesn’t lie, but why is it so hard for us to wait on the fulfillment of God’s promises? In this time of waiting we often find ourselves frequently questioning God, our ability to hear God and whether or not our relationship with God is on the right track, but I want to encourage you to be patiently faithful to God as he is to us.

I remember a many years ago I needed and wanted a car, but could never seem save enough money to buy one because they were so expensive. However, one day while in a pentcostal campmeeting the preacher prayed over me and one of the things he decreed was that God would give me a car that I won’t have to pay for and I praised God in agreement with that word. Now after hearing that word my faith went into great expectation mode expecting for my car to materialize either that night or the next day at the latest, however it did not. I didn’t let the delay discourage me even though many months and even years had passed between the time that I got that word and the fulfillment of the word, but I kept reminding myself of that word as I waited at the bus stop in the rain and walked in the sweltering summer heat. This faith pursuit suddenly came to climax when during a Sunday service I felt led of the Lord to sow my last few dollars for my new car that God said I would not have to pay for and the next day I received a phone call from my mother telling me that our neighbor had a car that she wanted to give me for FREE!

Please understand that as you wait on the fulfillment of God’s promises you must refuse to waver regardless of how you feel because as my mom says, “Your faith in God will overrule the facts of your current situation.” You must constantly focus on growing your faith in God by reminding yourself of what He has promised you. Paul teaches us a vital principle in Romans 10:17, “So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God(KJV).” As you frequently rehearse what God has said to yourself, your faith for the fulfillment of His promise will increase. Always remember that God’s delay is not his denial because good things truly come to those who wait.

1. What are you currently believing God for?

One thought on “Don’t Waver

  1. Pingback: My God, My God, Hear Our Cries | terry1954

Leave a Reply

